Doing Business in Lesotho

The History of Lesotho


Lesotho or officially the Kingdom of Lesotho, is a landlocked country.  It is situated in the Maloti Mountains and contains and has a population of about 2 million.

Lesotho was a British colony and was declared independence from the United Kingdom on 4 October 1966.

It is a sovereign and is a member of the United Nations, the Commonwealth of Nations and the Souther African Development Community. 


The Loti (plural: Maloti) is the currency of the Kingdom of Lesotho.  It is pegged to the South African Rand on a 1:1 basis through the Common Monetary Area and both are accepted as Legal Tender within Lesotho. 

Banks in Lesotho:

The following commercial banks operate in Lesotho: 

  1. Standard Lesotho Bank 
  2. Nedbank 
  3. First National Bank 
  4. Lesotho Post Bank 


Get the best solutions to your  legal problems.

We make our clients’ goals and challenges our own and strive to create a lasting impact on their business.